Thoughts Over Medium

  • Once again I find myself eating breakfast at Marios.
  • Nearly each Saturday off, Marcela and I come to Marios for café con leche y tostada. That’s (Cuban) coffee with milk and toast for anybody that’s curious.
  • I have been lucky enough to have café con leche, tostada, bacón, y juevos fritos with my mom the last couple days that I’ve been off.
  • Today was Marcela’s last day of school with the kids, and tomorrow is her last day at work for the Summer.
  • Hurricane season 2008 has officially begun and I still haven’t stocked up on all my supplies. Fortunately, I have most of the supplies I need already.
  • The heat at work is no longer a major concern for me since I bought Rubbermaid® blue ice blankets to place in the plate pouches in my vest. I was chillin in one of the hottest places at the plant yesterday while everyone else was suffering.
  • I got a good scare yesterday at work when I saw a bright flash and heard a loud boom. It turned out to be a fire in the switch yard at the fossil side of the power plant.
  • Tonight is the first night of the NBA finals and they are really playing up the return of the “greatest rivalry in the NBA”. The images of Chamberlain/Russel and Johnson/Bird are all over ABC.
  • The ESPN staff are leaning toward LA in this series. It should be a good one.
  • LPC has a Twitter account. Follow LPC and follow me!
  • Even Jesse is now twittering.  You can follow him too.
  • Somehow, Pastor Trav is going to incorporate Twitter into the Sunday morning services. That means if you are not Twittering, you aren’t “cool like that” Chris. LOL
  • My poor little lovebird is still sitting on her eggs. She must have no clue that they will never hatch.
  • I was playing around with the microKorg today and I realized just how cool that thing is. I have to find the manual because it’s as complicated as it is cool.
  • Jesse informed me of his plans for this weekend’s music at Church. I am so ticked that I have to work and I won’t be able to participate.
  • There are quite a few people at my job site who believe in aliens. They were talking yesterday and actually theorized that aliens are super-evolved humans who had left and have come back to either harvest or study us. I know I annoyed them because I started talking about 2001: A Space Odyssey and the new Indiana Jones movie.
  • Jesse got a kick out of this stuff. I gotta say that it makes good late night radio talk show fodder, but I am waiting for some mainstream independent verification.
  • The Wii continues to entertain Marcela and me. I have some online competition in Mario Kart coming up soon. But my mom hasn’t even learned to play yet.
  • Is Hillary about to concede? Is she going to be Obama’s running mate?
  • Some of the things I look forward to with an Obama presidency: Higher taxes, higher gas prices, more government intrusion with regards to energy consumption, more spending on entitlement programs, and socialized medicine.
  • Somebody or some company out there can come up with a solution to the energy crisis. The left wing (Democrats) tends to think the way out of our energy crisis is to punish the companies that are profiting. Forget the American way which is that necessity is the mother of all innovation.
  • Call me Commissioner Phil. I am going to create a yahoo fantasy football league as soon as they open up. If you are interested in joining, email me at “thecitizencane-at-yahoo-dot-com”. Go ahead and register for a yahoo account at Yahoo.com Pastor Travis thinks he is going to win, so all you football gurus out there better get ready. Also be sure you have thick skin, because the trash talk gets pretty heavy.
1 Comment

Filed under basketball, church, family, food, football, games, Homestead, life pointe, movies, NBA, NFL, politics, school, Wii, work, world events, worship

One response to “Thoughts Over Medium

  1. My retro ‘old-school’ cell phone only has the ability to send classic ‘UnTwitter’ text messages; therefore, the next time you do a Mario’s breakfast on a Saturday morning could you kindly let this ‘UnCool’ gent know about it in advance and then maybe I’ll check it out for myself for some ‘Saturday Morning Shenanigans’. I think I’ve only eaten at Mario’s twice since they’ve been open all of these years (both times for Lunch). I wasn’t impressed with either meal. Maybe their Breakfast es especial. I used to eat at that place back in the mid-1990s when it was Cooper’s. Remember that ?

Leave a Reply

