Profiles LPC/HCOG: Arlene Rance

These entries will briefly profile people from present or historical Life Pointe Church, previously known as Homestead Church of God, who have made an impact on the church, the community, myself personally, or my family. They may contain profiles of people that most LPC members/attenders know or may contain profiles of people that LPC folk have never even heard about. These are my personal VIP’s. We are instructed in the Bible to give honor where honor is due, so that is my purpose with these posts.

Arlene Rance is the perfect candidate to lead off with. She has been faithfully attending LPC/HCOG since before the summer of 1986. Mrs. Rance was also responsible for helping shape me into who I am today; she was my supervisor/teacher at Pathway Christian School from fall 1986 to my HS graduation in 94. Don’t hold that against her, though. They say you can’t make a silk purse out of a sow’s ear.

Sister Rance has led a prayer group at the church for many years, and has been meeting nearly every Saturday morning to call out to God for people’s healing, salvation, and deliverance. Arlene is a prayer warrior, a woman of faith, and an example of faithfulness and God’ love in spite of the numerous obstacles thrown her way. Most people (myself included) will never know the struggles that Sister Rance has faced with her family and health, yet she faithfully pushes through.

Arlene has also been a member of the praise team at the church for many years, and she has written some cool songs. She has a very beautiful voice.

As a youngin, whenever my folks would go out of town, they would send me to the Rances’ place. That is how I know about some of the best fried chicken and pole beans with potatoes and tater salad and cornbread with collard greens in all of south Florida.

Please pray for healing for Arlene Rance. She has probably prayed for you many times when you didn’t even know it!

If you have anything to add, feel free to post a comment about Arlene.

4 Comments

Filed under church, life pointe, worship

4 responses to “Profiles LPC/HCOG: Arlene Rance

  1. Ela

    Phil I just finished speaking to Arlene a few minutes ago. I like to check-in with her at least everyother day. This lady is the most loving, kind hearted person I know.Everytime she comes over is like a ray of sunshine, she has praid for my health oh so many times, but we have a connection with each other that can’t be broken. I love Bill as well. At first I thought he was a huge mean bear but as I have gotten to listen, talk to and really pay close attention to what he has to say I have to say I think the world of him and he likes me just for beign so real. That family is awasome.

  2. Ela, you said it. She is a very loving person. Arlene has been like a family member to me. Bill, now he is a character. Bill and I have had some good times fishing and talking and fiddling around in the dirt. He is a pretty accomplished gardener.

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Blogroll Review « THE MAJOR’S LIFE BLOG

  4. Anne J

    Arlene Rance is a REMARKABLE person and a gift to everyone who knows her.

Leave a Reply

