Top 5 Saturday – TV commercials in my lifetime

I can’t give you the greatest commercials ever, because there are too many commercials of which I am not aware or have no connection since I am only 32. So these commercials in my top 5 are the ones which are most memorable to me.

5. 1984 won’t be like 1984 – It was the year of the Olympics in LA, and it was the year Apple introduced the Macintosh. It’s a seriously good commercial that still holds up technically. If it had either more substance or more humor to it I would have listed it as my #1. Regardless, it was a brilliant commercial. When I watch The Matrix and Neo is freed, I am reminded of this commercial. It has the same feel. Everyone is trapped and everything is being spoon fed to living yet mindless robots. FREE YOUR MIND!

4. “Pardon me, would you have any Grey Poupon?” Grey Poupon is so fine, it’s even made from white wine. “But of course!” This is one of life’s finer pleasures. How do I know? Because some guy in a Rolls-Royce has it in his glove box. Seriously though, who hasn’t pulled up alongside you and asked for some Grey Poupon? Happens to me all the time.

3. “Wassuuuuuuuup“. I don’t drink and I don’t make the suggestion that you drink. I am not endorsing Budweiser. But this commercial was bigger than the beer! Growing up, everybody had a set of buddies and they had their own way of communication, and their own style. There were a couple others in this series: “Wassabi“, “Wassup Girlfriend“, and my favorite of the series “What are you doing?” This commercial still makes me smile because it kind of reminds me of some of my old friends. This is one of many hilarious and memorable Budweiser commercials, including the Bud-weis-er frogs, “I LOVE YOU MAN!”, and Cedric the Entertainer shaking it up on a date. But this one kind of filtered into everyday life. Don’t tell me you have never called someone on the phone and said “wassuuuuuuuuuuup!”

2. “Would you please pass the Jelly?” In a southern somewhat hickish accent, a young feller asks the rich hosts to pass the jelly, when he should have said “Pass the Polaner’s All Fruit.” My family still jokes about this when we get together for breakfast. Don’t dare call it jelly!

1. This Wendy’s commercial became a social statement, a metaphor, and so much more than just a commercial about hamburgers. To this day politician and officials are asked this simple question when it is apparent theya have more style than substance. That’s why it’s #1. “Where’s the beef?”

3 Comments

Filed under food, movies, politics, technology, top 5, TV, Uncategorized

3 responses to “Top 5 Saturday – TV commercials in my lifetime

  1. Apple 1984 was actually based on the movie 1984 with Richard Burton which was based on George Orwell’s 1984 about government control and totalitarian state. Now I have to watch the movie. Looks like maybe I could have listed this as the number 1 choice.

  2. Pingback: Life Pointe Sunday Talk Soup - 4/27/08 « The Citizen Cane

  3. у вашего сайта красивый диз, сами рисовали?

    история фамилии шаталов

Leave a Reply

