Communication

A couple hundred years, news was spread via town crier and print, then some decades later the telegraph allowed codes to be sent across a pretty good distance. Then with the invention of the magnetic/electric telephone and it’s advent around the turn of the 20th century, we could share information across the country without someone to translate Morse Code. We could actually hear the voice of someone speaking in a different location. Then we had the radio and TV which could relay information quickly into our homes on a wide scale, but there was still a delay in the relay of big events across the globe. As technology grew and so did population, the world got smaller with sattelite communications. We could find out instantly what happened on the other side of the world, as long as the people on the other side of the world would tell us. The internet happened and everything changed. We could share via email or instant messages our information directly from one person to another with no middle man, nobody controlling the flow of info.

As I sit here on the edge of Biscayne Bay and the FL Everglades typing some random thoughts about communications on my Blackberry with no cables, no phone lines, no wireless router, no typewriter or telephone, I am overwhelmed with my thoughts. I can’t even put into words how amazing the era in which we live is to me. I am a nobody in the grand scheme, yet I have the ability to share with the whole world what I am thinking at any given time and nobody is trying to stop me! Isn’t that crazy? I wonder what somebody like Martin Luther or Ben Franklin would have been able to do with this technology.

2 Comments

Filed under communications, technology, TV, Uncategorized, world events

2 responses to “Communication

  1. As I read with great interest your history time-line of communication over the past 200+ years I thought for sure that you would somehow someway include the word ‘Twitter’ in it, and declare it to be the next revolutionary form of communication for the next generation. I’m relieved. Enjoy your long night at work !

  2. Actually I did. If you look at the post under comments, someone named Chris Day just added twitter to the mix. So it is now part of this blog entry. 🙂

Leave a Reply

