True-isms

I would give credit to all of the authors if I knew who they were. These are some things I grew up hearing in various places, including some from my dad.

-Advice is cheap because the demand is low and the supply is great.

-Opinions are like armpits. Everyone has a couple and sometimes they stink.

-Virtue is its own reward.

-The turtle never got anywhere until it stuck its neck out.

-Things come in cans, not can’ts.

-A dog that’ll follow everybody ain’t no good to anybody.

-If two people agree on everything all the time, one of them is not necessary.

-It’s better to be judged by 12 than carried by 6.

-Live and learn; die and forget it all.

-It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, but the size of the fight in the dog.

-You have two ears and one mouth for a reason. Listen twice as much as you talk. (I still haven’t quite mastered this one.)

-Even the fool who remains silent is thought to be wise. (Definitely a biblical principle from the Proverbs.)

-Why keep your mouth shut and be thought a fool when you can open your mouth and remove all doubt?

-A cat that sits on a hot stove will never sit on another hot stove again, or a cold one.

-The difference between a failure in life and a success in life is that the success tried again after his last failure.

-Love is a choice that is made every day.

-If you want to hit a homerun, you have to risk a strike out.

-Even the best hitters are unsuccessful about 2 out of every 3 tries.

-You cannot lead someone to somewhere you have never been.

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “True-isms

  1. Beckie

    You can lead a horse to water but you cant make him drink it. We have alot of stubborn people in our family! LOL I loved all of the other sayings as well. I have heard most of them from my Mom, including the one I added. Great to see you at church and on stage Sunday Phil.

  2. When I was working night shift, I could have potentially gone to church every Sunday morning, but I was so tired. Now I am working days I miss every other week, but I definitely get to be there rested up for one.

    A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush.

  3. Good stuff that I can relate to. I recognize some of those truisms from J.T. and Travis.

    A penny saved is a penny that you’ll need at the store that you won’t have when you really need it.

  4. bill finch

    ” The future ain’t what it used to be ”
    Yogi Berra

  5. If at first you don’t succeed … then delegate authority and get someone else to do it !

  6. Give a man a fish and he will eat for a day. Teach a man to fish and he will quit his job and move to the keys.

  7. Don’t count your chickens until … everyone has arrived at the kitchen table. That way they can be split evenly.

  8. Two wrongs don’t make a right.

  9. Two rights means that you’re going back in the same direction that you just came from, and that’s very counter-productive !

  10. Chris, you have turned my serious blog into a mockery.

  11. I’m still getting you back on behalf of Madonna, George Michael, Wham !, and Boy George ! 😯

Leave a Reply

