Saturday Top 5: Fish for dinner?

I love fish. I like to catch them, I like to look at them, but most of all I like to eat them! If I had to choose only one protein source to eat, it would have to be fish. So here are my top 5 ways to prepare the best food source on earth. Trust me. You need to know this information.

#5. Let’s have us a fish fry! Deep fried country style, with grits, hush puppies, french fries, and cole slaw reminds me of when I was a youngin in the bradenton area. I prefer fillets of snapper, grouper, trigger fish, dolphin, sea trout, cod, catfish, and flounder, but I also dig some blue gill, speckled perch, tilapia, or even bass for a fish fry. Simply dredge the fillet in some egg then coat it with a mixture of corn meal, salt, pepper, and cayenne powder and then drop it into some hot oil. Dip it in some good tartar sauce. I like batter dipped fish well enough, but some good corn meal crusted southern style fish fry is my favorite way to fry.

#4. Grilled. This is better for you and not as heavy on the gut as #5. Be sure to have a clean grill, spray it with no stick spray, and make sure it is hot. Don’t over cook unless you like fish jerky! I like to use a little salt, pepper, dill weed, and finish with some fresh lemon juice and maybe a little pat of butter. For a richer flavor I prefer steaks of salmon, kingfish, and spanish mackerel. For a cleaner or milder flavor, I prefer steaks of tuna, cero mackerel, (my favorite) swordfish, or fillets of grouper.

#3. Ceviche. Did you know you can cook fish without heat? That’s right. Personally, I prefer my ceviche HOT HOT (as in spicy) but nice and chilled. Making ceviche is about the easiest way to prepare fish. First, you start out with fresh boneless fillets of a mild and flaky fish, preferably yellowtail, or mangrove snapper, or even grunt. Cut them in half inch chunks. Add fresh chopped onions, tomatoes, cilantro, and finely chopped jalapeños or your favorite hot pepper. Drench it with a good layer of fresh lime juice. Add a little salt and pepper to taste and pop it back in the fridge for about an hour. You can watch the fish go from opaque to white as the acids from the lime juice cook the fish. Serve it on a bed of lettuce with some good chewy or crusty bread or crackers. Now you’re talkin! Or is it eatin?

#2 Raw baby! Sushi (nigiri or sashimi). The Japanese know how to do fish. If you are going to eat sushi, it had better be fresh (never frozen). Pull a yellowtail up out of the water, off the hook, fillet it right there, slap some wasabi and soy sauce on it, and you’re eating some of the finest cuisine in the world! I would not ask you to try something I never have. I prefer ahi tuna, white albacore, and salmon for sushi, but yellowtail or any snapper, and yellowfin or bluefin tuna are all excellent choices.

#1. Taco time. Hands down, the best way to eat fish is with a slice of avocado, some fresh salsa, jack cheese, and sour cream on a warm soft flour tortilla. I have seen recipes where the fish is deep fried, but I prefer it charred on the grill or in the pan with some chipotle, salt, and pepper. Marcela makes some excellent salsa, so I just focus on getting the fish right. Sometimes I like to grill some onions for this tasty treat, almost like fajitas. My fish of choice for tacos or fajitas is good old dolphin/mahi mahi/dorado. Man, you wanna talk about good south Florida food? This is one of the best things about living in So Fla. When I’m out fishing for dolphin, when I see a school, it looks like a bunch of gold and green tacos swimming around in the ocean! If I have my choice, you can keep your fancy little blackened fish sandwiches, or your cute little flounder with lemon butter and capers over linguini. Give me some tacos!

6 Comments

Filed under fishing, FL, food, Miami, top 5, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Saturday Top 5: Fish for dinner?

  1. Venus

    Oh mann! Taco time is it! Thanks for the tips. I think I’ll be grilling some fish this week. Yum!

  2. Ela

    Have some Tilapia fish fry this week for sure….Thanks Chef Phil 🙂

  3. Fish is one of the tastiest foods on the planet, but it all tastes the same to me. I can’t tell the difference between the various fishes. It’s all good ! I wish I ate it more than perhaps a few times per year.

  4. Pingback: Thought Salad « The Citizen Cane

  5. dolphin? you eat dolphins? now you’re going to tell me you eat puppies too!

  6. Hush puppies go great with fried dolphin. You know what they say, “When in Rome…”

Leave a Reply

