The Fishing Report

Yesterday (June 30) Greg, Tony, my dad, and I joined Captain Clay in Boynton Beach for a day of fishing. The weather was nice; it was overcast with 10-15 mph wind and 2-4 ft seas. We were in the water by 645 AM expecting to get an early morning wahoo.

We trolled for three hours with nothing to show. The wind must have been inconsistant because we couldn’t find any good solid weed lines, just patchy scattered stuff. We didn’t even see a dolphin the whole day. So around 10 we headed for shallower waters to look for the kings cruising the beach. I landed a decent ‘Cuda and then we got into a school of large bonito (a type of tuna). One broke my line off, one spit our deep running ballyhoo, and one was landed by my dad. It was a nice bonito of about 20+ lbs.

We then headed to an artificial reef in about 30 ft for some spearing. There were some small tails and mangrove snappers but nothing in the area worth shooting except a fast moving cero mackerel (I missed). We saw some large stingrays and a loggerhead asleep on the bottom. Greg had a little illegal interaction with the protected creature when he tapped it on the shell. It just look up at us and stared.

To finish the day, we anchored in about 60 ft of water for some tailing. The current was ripping but the fish showed up immediately. I lost a big tail, then I caught a nice almaco jack. Tony also caught an almaco and then a little barjack. When I started flat lining (that doesn’t mean I was dying) I hooked up a,d landed a legal mutton snapper. Next, something toothy broke my line off and we didn’t see any more fish in the slick. Our time was up and we headed to the dock.

Overall, we had a very fun day, but it fell short of my expectations in terms of the quantity of dolphin and kings. It was great to get to hang out with my dad and see him haul in the big one of the day.

6 Comments

Filed under sports, time

6 responses to “The Fishing Report

  1. billyfinch

    What time’s dinner? 🙂

  2. Anne

    oops, Bill! dinner’s over and there are no leftovers. Just for the record, the fish were delicious.

    aj

  3. Ela

    Sorry about missing dinner but something came up. I’ll make swure that next time I’m there. 🙂

  4. Anne J.

    ok, we’ll be looking for you.

  5. Anne

    P.J. Just read your twitter. The secret to frying the fish is the fryer 🙂 not momma….

    Thanks, anyway.

  6. Pingback: Thought Foo Yung « The Citizen Cane

Leave a Reply

