Thought Foo Yung

-Today is day 5 as a bachelor. Marcela is in Idaho with her mom and dad. She has been seeing some fawns and doe’s and other various wildlife. Today, she is heading to another camp site that has even more wildlife. She also got to do a 7 mile hike in the woods and a swim in an ice cold mountain lake. I told her to watch out for bears and mountain lions.

-The word for the month is fishing! I plan on going fishing as much as I can over the next two weeks. I got to enjoy a day on the water in Boynton with my dad on Monday and we had a blast. We trolled, snorkled, and spear fished. If anyone wants to go next week, I should have Tuesday or Wednesday off.

-I love our church. Life group at Paul and Annie’s last night was great. We discussed the vineyard, that Jesus is the vine and we are the branches, and what a fruitful Christian looks like. I am so proud of the steps that the members of our group have made as both mature and baby Christians who are hungry for more of the Lord.

-My mom has made fish for the past three nights for dinner. Since Marcela is out of town, I was happy to take full advantage of my mom’s generocity and join her and my dad for dolphin sandwiches and fried catfish with grits and hush puppies.

-I have been discussing Starbucks with some poor ignorant fella who believes that Starbucks coffee is for effeminate men. I tried to explain to him that Starbucks brews the strongest cup of coffee around. The cute little fru-fru stuff like the latte’s and machiatto’s are for the chicks when they acompany the men to get a real cup of mud. I admit that I do like the fraps and the iced coffee. 🙂

-I watched a blast from the past with the Jimmy Johnson’s Hurricanes vs Barry Switzer’s Oklahoma Sooners in the Orange Bowl from January 1988. The Canes won Jimmy Johnson’s first national championship by dominating the Sooners. Just a few years later, Jimmy won two NFL Superbowl Championships with Dallas, then Barry Switzer took over the team and won another.

-I am getting a little excited about college football this year. I am a little miffed that the Canes will be playing in Dolphin’s Stadium near on the county line. I don’t like the idea of driving an hour for the game as opposed to 30 minutes and probably paying $20 for parking instead of $5. That doesn’t even take into account the increased ticket prices and playing in a stadium so far removed from the field. I will miss the Orange Bowl.

2 Comments

Filed under church, family, fishing, food, football, games, life pointe, Miami, Miami Hurricanes, snorkeling, sports

2 responses to “Thought Foo Yung

  1. billyfinch

    “though foo yung”?
    brilliant, JUST BRILLIANT!!
    You just raised the bar.

  2. Ela

    I think I’m going to order EGG FOO YUG for dinner:)

Leave a Reply

