Saturday Top 5: Sci-Fi Movies

For those that haven’t noticed, I like movies. Sci-Fi movies are particularly fun for me. For my list, I have almost completely eliminated Horror flicks from my list. I have also grouped franchises in one place and added a few honorable mentions. So here is my list of the top 5 Science Fiction movies ever made.

Honorable Mention:
2001: A Space Odyssey – It’s a bit of a slow film, and it can be a little bit confusing, but the music and scenery are amazing. The highlight of the movie may be the chimps learning to use weapons.

ET – How did they make such an ugly character so lovable? Only Spielberg could have pulled that one off.

Soylent Green – Chuck Heston stars in this film about a bleak future where populations are out of control and food is rationed by the government in little colored wafers. I won’t tell you what Soylent Green is made from, but I can tell you that it ain’t lettuce.

The Terminator – This franchise is about a computer system gone mad which sends a robot/android back through time to kill a future rebel leader while he’s a kid. The whole series has some great twists, action, characters, and quotes. “I’ll be back!”

#5. Planet of the Apes – Chuck Heston makes the list again with this sci-fi film about a crew of astronauts which land on a planet run by talking apes which have enslaved non-talking humans. What planet could this be? The end, like Soylent Green, is pretty dramatic with a major twist.

#4. Blade Runner – Harrison Ford stars as a bounty hunter/agent out to destroy some criminal replicants, androids that look, act, and think just like a real human. He has a test which can determine if they are real or impostors, but maybe he should try it on himself. This is a seriously good movie.

#3. Back to the Future – Michael J. Fox leads the way in this fun and funny 80’s franchise about time travel and the effects of tinkering with the past. These flicks tie in a bit of a western theme and actually predicts a World Series win by a Miami baseball team. This is a movie I can watch just about any time.

#2. Star Wars – Harrison Ford makes his second appearance in my list with a classic tale of good vs evil. I loved this whole franchise but I wasn’t to keen on Jar Jar. He may be one of the most annoying movie characters of all time (stay tuned for a future Top 5). One of the greatest heroes (Luke) and greatest villains (Darth Vader) have it out in this series. This movie franchise brought about the best special FX for it’s time.

#1. The Matrix – I love this franchise because of the way it values reality over the perception of what is reality of the characters. The heroes are fighting for a free world which is a hard existence as opposed to false reality which is a much easier and more pleasant life. The action and special FX, like Star Wars, are revolutionary. Much of the movie uses religious metaphor and imagery. The movies also have a running theme, that is that even though it seems that everything is destiny, you have a choice.

Think I missed something? You ask,”What about Star Trek, Alien, Minority Report, or Jurassic Park?”. If you think you can do better, make a list and I’ll gladly tell you why I am right.

6 Comments

Filed under movies, top 5

6 responses to “Saturday Top 5: Sci-Fi Movies

  1. billyfinch

    2001/SO my #1 fave, especially on the big screen in a theater. Should never have made the sequal made it even more confusing and stands alone.

  2. I vote for “Alien” and “Pitch Black.” Or maybe these go under Horror — ?

  3. The Alien franchise is one that I expect to be argued as number 1. I have seen the movies, but I didn’t get into them that much. They do lean towards the horror side, but that wasn’t my reasoning. I like the smart sci-fi’s. The movies were based on alien creatures. Not exactly the smartest type of film. But I will give it another chance.

  4. Those old Black and White Sci-Fi movies were usually B-movies, but still tons of fun and sometimes upsetting. Sci-Fi flicks that are well produced with great acting, and that state bleak prophetic messages about the evils in the heart of man and problems caused by overpopulation, by amoral out-of-control science, by nuclear war, or by uncontrollable natural catastrophes are the best.

    The Sci-Fi movies I am attracted to the most are the ones of personal triumph and survivalism. I guess my upbringing in church, hearing my father’s awesome End Times/Great Tribulation sermons, resonate in some visceral way with those kinds of Sci-Fi movies that I still do not exactly fathom.

    Some honorable mentions could well include “The Birds”, “The Road Warrior”, “The Day the Earth Stood Still”, “The Morning After”,”Colossus: The Forbin Project”, “Invasion of the Body-Snatchers”, “Frankenstein”(with Boris Karloff), and “The Invisible Man”(original British made version). There are a bunch more. So many, Sci-Fis so little time.

    That’s my story and I’m sticking by it—for now.

  5. I forgot about “The Road Warrior.” Yes, I will admit that it is one of my personal favorites as well.

    Just saw “Wall-E” today. People in the audience were hugely enjoying it, and most of the audience were NOT kids 🙂

  6. dcorrado

    ok guys i really think you missed one of the all time greats of sci-fi “War of the Worlds”, not just this one;
    http://www.imdb.com/video/screenplay/vi4260692249/
    but the newer version,the updated special effects,i enjoyed.

Leave a Reply

