Sunday Life Pointe Talk Soup

  • Day 15 of bachelorhood was spent at church.
  • I arrived 7:45 at the theater to find set up in full swing.
  • I saw David out on the street setting up signs and flags again, and the early set up folks were kicking it off, and the late night crew already had the core of the pier 2 set up completed.  Those guys are awesome.
  • In practice, we talked about having dueling drums, but there was only one set on the floor when I set up.  Alex came in a little later and let me know that I would need to relocate so he could set up his two-piece trap.  The forced relocation, along with the keyboard played by Rebecca on the other side landed me on stage beside Jesse.  I made it to the spotlight!
  • On drums, Ritz played electric with Alex on his two-piece.  The acoustic sound was great and I already have confirmation that it will be returning.  Rebecca Longtemps was on the keys, Jesse on the acoustic guitar, and I was on the bass.
  • For the worship set, we sang “In the Name of Love” by U2, “Your Love is Amazing” (1030 only), “Better Days”, and “Say So”.  For communion we sang “Mighty to Save“.
  • I loved corporate worship today.  People were participating, and the atmosphere seemed totally energized.  God and his love was totally the focus, and it was so cool to see people excited for Jesus.
  • While people greeted each other, Kyle spit some serious rhymes!  That’s right, Rappers Delight, it was tight!
  • The intro video was the best to date.  I especially liked Joe Porter’s smirk while he was being beaten to a pulp.  It’s funny to see all the recurring characters too.
  • Got Funk? The message was on conflict.  Pastor Trav explained that the Apostle Paul did not run from conflict, that he actually called out Peter in front of the church for requiring unnecessary requirements on new believers. The question is not how to avoid conflict, but how to manage it in a Godly fashion.
  • I enjoyed seeing new faces once again, meeting new people, and seeing old friends for the first time in a while.
6 Comments

Filed under church, family, Homestead, life pointe, Miami, music, worship

6 responses to “Sunday Life Pointe Talk Soup

  1. Pingback: Life Pointe Church Sunday Morning Tossed Salad « THE MAJOR’S LIFE BLOG

  2. Pingback: Sunday Wrap-up « travis johnson

  3. Ela

    Phil I love reading your talk soup casue I just don’t get the message part but I get the worship part. I love it because now I go and hear the songs that where played and that ties everything toghether for me.

    BTW you are always in the spot light to me.

    Mucho amor,

    Ela

  4. Ela,
    Thanks for the kind words. I literally got into the spotlight today. There is a spotlight that only hits part of the stage. 🙂

    You are a big part of why I enjoy writing so much.

  5. Ela is a big part of why I enjoy writing my blog so much. Since she can’t physically be there with us for worship and fellowship we bring our blogs (and lives) to her via the web, and we build that online community of Life Pointe Church that she is so an integral part of.

    I also bring my blog to my good buddy of the past several months – Phil – who likes to mimic me and my unique style. It’s all good. Phil is good. 🙄

    Incidentally when are we going to Wii Bowl ?

  6. Lets try to get together this coming week. I work over the weekend so that means I have Tuesday and Wednesday off, then Saturday, Sunday, and Monday next weekend.

Leave a Reply

