Thought bearing lobster

  • I woke up this morning at 5:50 AM on my day off: the phone was ringing. My work was calling to find out if I wanted to come in to work. Not today!
  • I was expecting the call to be from Dave to make sure I was up and ready to go for a day of lobstering. Dave called at 6:30 AM to let me know he was heading out of the plant.
  • I was glad that Dave would take the time to go out there with me, since Trav ditched me to visit the family in Louisiana. 🙂
  • We loaded up the car, grabbed a couple of Jolt Ultra’s and a cooler of ice, and headed to Card Sound road.
  • We had a great time, but after about 2 1/2 hours in the water, we caught only 1 lobster (short) and found about 5 large lobster carcasses. We did see one stone crab, quite a few large snook, some mangrove and schoolmaster snapper, a couple shark, and even some drum. No keeper lobster though.
  • A couple of guys in a nice Angler 204 with fishing rods came over to see how we were doing, and they ID’d themselves as FWC. I guess they were undercover. They couldn’t believe we were not from a boat, considering that we were quite a way from the bridge. After they saw that we had our flag, our gages, and we were in the legal side, they wished us good luck and went on their way.
  • Dave is a maniac, the guy was climbing up in the mangrove roots. I kept getting tangled in the dive flag line and my legs got a little itchy from what I think were jellyfish. I will go back in a few days to do some snapper fishing and try again for some lobster (August 6 is the regular season opener).
  • Due to my wheeling and dealing at work, I now have to work 4 straight to make up for my miniseason time off.
  • Tonight, Dave and his family are coming over for some chicken and burgers on the Q. I think we will play the Wii too.
  • I spent some good times this week watching movies and going to the mall with Marcela. I still didn’t get to see Hancock yet. Maybe Tuesday.
  • The blogroll/links section of the blog have been updated. Also, I have created a “Top 5” page to make it easier to find all of my Top 5 lists.
  • Tomorrow, I will unveil a new weekly feature.  It will be a fun one.
  • On a different note, the economy grew at 1.9% in the last quarter, oil prices are dropping faster than ever in history, and faster than they grew. But if you watch the news, you would swear we are in a recession.
  • The violence against our troops is at an all time low in Iraq, but you hear absolutely nothing positive in the news. Apparently the mainstream news outlets do not report good things, especially if they reflect positively on Bush administration or the Republican party.
3 Comments

Filed under fishing, FL, movies, politics, snorkeling, top 5, Wii, work, world events

3 responses to “Thought bearing lobster

  1. Ginger

    I agree with your last statement. It seems like the news never reports ANYTHING good that happens over there. It can’t be all bad. I know it isn’t all good either. But be fair and report the bad AND the good.

  2. The question: Is it because the news is biased against the right and/or Bush? Or Is it that the news media believes that good news does not sell?

  3. ‘The News’ (generically speaking) is absolutely biased against the right and the center (to be even more precise). Having stated that if President Obama is sworn in on the 20TH of January 2009 expect a short honeymoon between him and the press. Watch the press gradually turn on him as he begins to make mistakes. Remember President Clinton ?

Leave a Reply

