Trying to Understand God on Man’s Terms

In an attempt to speak for myself here, I am sure I will generalize. So please excuse and forgive me in advance.

Is it possible to understand God? I love God, and I know God, but I think it’s impossible to understand God. His ways are above ours. For example, we learn the story of creation, and the story of salvation, and the story of judgment and reward. We think of these things in linear terms because that is what we understand. God was going along and decided to create the universe, the world, land/water, plants, animals, and man. But the bible says God has no beginning and end. I have to say, that makes me question the linear way we think about God.

God has no boundries of space and time. I believe he actually created time. An infinite God created a finite concept like space and time so that we could exist in it. God has no past. In the past, God is there. In the future, God is already there waiting (there is my linear thinking) for us. God is bigger than space. It’s mind boggling, but I believe it. He is all-powerful, all-knowing, and all-present. And to think that he sees the sparrow that falls. He loves me, despite the fact that I cannot even understand his ways.

 8″For My thoughts are not your thoughts, nor are your ways My ways,” declares the LORD.
 9″For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways and My thoughts than your thoughts.

-Isaiah 55:8-9

1 Comment

Filed under time, worship

One response to “Trying to Understand God on Man’s Terms

  1. (Gal 6:14 KJV) But God forbid that I should glory, save in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by whom the world is crucified unto me, and I unto the world.

Leave a Reply

