Friday Bottom 3: Canned Food

We all have a guilty pleasure when it comes to canned foods.  Some people love spaghetti-o’s, some love beenie-weenies, and some people even like rutabaga’s in a can.  Well, here is my list of the 3 worst canned foods.  The criteria is that it must be fairly common, the ingredients must be in question, and it must be a food that you wouldn’t want people to see you eating.  I won’t be including pork brains or canned horse or anything obscure like that.  If you feel I have missed something, feel free to add it on.

Honorable Mention:

Sardines – Yes, I actually enjoy sardines.  It makes much better fish bait than human food, but if you add enough hot sauce, serve it on a cracker, it’s actually not that bad.  Be careful not to spill any of the oil on a porous surface or it will not only leave a stain, but an odor that will last forever.

#3 Vienna Sausages – Yes, I know this is one of my family’s favorite traveling foods.  It’s like a hotdog, only mushier, saltier, and with a strange flavor that cannot quite be identified.  But the best way to neutralize this strange taste is to break out some good club crackers and smash a Vienna Sausage between the two crackers, like a sandwich.

#2 Potted Meat – Whoever came up with the idea of taking pieces of minced leftover meat, salting it heavily, sticking it in a can, and actually naming it “Potted Meat” must have been a marketing genius.  Who would actually buy this stuff?  I will tell you.  When a hurricane threatens south Florida, one of the rules is to have plenty of Potted Meat and Vienna Sausages on hand for survival purposes.  As soon as the first bad weather starts to hit, I open a can of potted meat and I am comforted to know that I will survive.

#1 Spam – Is there any doubt that this would be the #1?  This is also known as “Mystery Meat”.  Spam actually had a campaign a few years back that you could slice it and fry it, put it on a bun, and call it a Spamburger.  There are also many recipe sites where you can find all types of high-end meals made from spam.  Every year in Texas, an event called Spamarama is held where you can compete in Spam cooking contests.  I actually had something with spam that was decent.  Someone had a platter with layers of chopped up spam, cream cheese, and pineapples served with crackers.  If you can avoid dipping in the spam, the pineapple and cream cheese goes pretty good together with the cracker.

4 Comments

Filed under Bottom 3, fishing, food, Hurricanes

4 responses to “Friday Bottom 3: Canned Food

  1. Ela

    YUK TO ALL……….

  2. Rebecca Longtemps

    Potted meat sounds illegal. In fact is sounds like a narcotic. Good luck with that. I’ll survive with my black beans. 🙂
    I didn’t know that there was a Moe’s down here…thanks for telling me!!

  3. I don’t eat much of it anymore, but I must admit that I do like the taste of Spam (as part of a balanced hot breakfast). I ate it occasionally for Breakfast back in the day. I’ll probably have some in a couple of weekends when I visit my parents up near Jacksonville.

    I don’t eat any canned goods.

  4. Pingback: Hurricane Repellent Kit « The Citizen Cane

Leave a Reply

