Sunday Life Pointe Talk Soup

  • The service which many attenders experience Sunday morning starts earlier in the week for many, and in some cases weeks in advance. That is to say that bringing an experience on Sunday morning requires preparation, study, and practice. Rehearsal for Sunday’s worship set on Thursday was productive until a lightning storm shut us down.
  • This morning at 7:32 AM I was greeted by fellow blogmaster Chris Day and my mom who were already in full swing at the theater. Robert and Zech were in Pier 2 rockin out! Set up in the theater was smooth thanks to the late night maniacs who get everything going while I am busy catching Z’s.
  • Jesse was out of town this week, so I was honored to fill in for him on stage. I told him when he asked me to cover for him that I was going to bring back some rock’n’roll and he told me to go for it. I was sweating bullets this morning from nervous energy, but thanks to Alex who bailed me out a couple times everything went fine.
  • On the drums and vocals was Mike B, thumpin the bass was Billy Barue, Alex covered the rhythm on the acoustic, Rob (AKA Hyper-active) rocked the electric, I was on keys and vocals today, Nirian and Julie were also on vocals.
  • To open, Mike rocked the jungle beat and the LPC peeps jammed. The first tune was one of my favorite praise songs, Jon Egan’s “I Am Free”… ROCK AND ROLL! Then we sang “Famous One”, followed by “Shout to the Lord” led beautifully by Julie. It was so great to feel God’s presents as everyone sang that ‘Nothing compares to the promise I have in You!’. For communion we sang “Take My Life”.
  • I was so pleasantly surprised to see Ela Ortega at church this morning.  It really caught me off guard.  Ela’s hard work and determination is humbling.  In spite of her condition, she is determined to be a blessing.  She blesses me and Life Pointe more than she can possibly know.
  • The message today brought by Pastor Trav was “Loaded” and was on the subject of money. I loved the balanced approach sharing the biblical principles of cheerful giving and stewardship. Many times, either money issues are ignored altogether by the church, or it is overstated to the point that people are duped into believing that their gifts to ministries will grant them instant wealth. Yet, money was one of the most common themes of Jesus’ teachings.
  • I particularly found part of the message very useful, “where there is slack, there is lack”. If you are ignoring discipline in an area of your life, be it finances, health, relationship, or family, you can usually be sure that you will lack in those areas as a result.

For another perspective on this morning at Life Pointe, be sure to check out Ritz and his Sunday Goosfaba.

1 Comment

Filed under church, Homestead, life pointe, music, worship

One response to “Sunday Life Pointe Talk Soup

  1. Ela

    Phil you were awasome as usual, it brought back memories of years past when it was just you and a couple of others. I am glad I surprised you and everyone else. I was very happy to see Marcela just before I left.

    Love you both,

    Ela

Leave a Reply

