Line of Thought

-Yesterday in the early afternoon I accomplished my early vote. I felt like I was back in college registering for classes again. I had to stand in line to wait so I could stand in another line, then stand in one more line to vote, then stand in one final line to cast the ballot. Line, line, everywhere’s a line!

-At about 4:30, I went back to the city hall to stand with my wife so she could vote. The line moved quicker it seemed and she studied up prior to voting. This time, she voted much quicker than I did since she was better prepared with the city’s charter amendments, the state’s constitution amendments, and the judges.

-I believe this is the first time I cast a vote on each item of the ballot. It helps to have a blackberry so you can look up some quick info on judges and amendments prior to marking your ballot, but it also slows things down a little.

-Some entrepreneurial kids were outside the polling place practicing some good old fashioned capitalism selling “President Obama” t-shirts. I probably should have bought one and given half the money to someone on the street. 🙂

-A truck covered with Obama/Biden and Joe Garcia stickers, posters, and signs was parked by the street. On the back were two flags, about 4′ by 6′. One was Puerto Rico and the other was another Caribbean nation. I asked the guy that if he wanted Americans to vote for his preferred candidate then shouldn’t he have an American flag at least somewhere in the area. I don’t think he was targeting Americans. Some of the people there in line were not impressed with the truck.

-The elections workers were very helpful, patient, and for the most part professional. Water was provided for everyone who was standing in line outside.

-The whole process for my voting experience was about 1 hour and 45 minutes, and 1 hour and 10 minutes for Marcela.

-I’m voting absentee next election. I have said it before, but this time I mean it!

-I saw 3 different families from Pathway Christian School, some of which I haven’t seen since before Hurricane Andrew. I barely recognized one of them until he told me who he was.

-There are less than 6 days until all ballots should have been cast and counted. It may be months before we know for certain who our next president is. In our letigious society, we will probably have to wait for the courts, judges, and lawyers to “weigh in”.

-There have been roughly 9000 attorneys hired to contest election results in the battleground states. Obama is out-lawyering McCain in this election by more than 2-1. How did we get to this point in our elections.

-No matter who you vote for, please be sure to inform yourselves. I suggest bypassing the biased “mainstream” media which more and more seems to be a branch of the left, and pay no attention to the clever advertisements on both sides meant to scare you into voting or not voting for a candidate. Develop a political philosophy and base it on a sound world view and economic common sense. Vote for the candidate or party that best represents your philosophy. In other words, be informed about your vote. While neither candidate is ideal in my opinion, and both are more liberal than other candidates I have seen in the past, but they are very different choices in their philosophical approach.

3 Comments

Filed under politics

3 responses to “Line of Thought

  1. billyfinch

    Good thoughts. See ya tonight at LPC2.

  2. HA. We took a carpool to early vote last week and we did everything in less than 20 minutes. It was great. One thing I noticed, though, is that EVERY voter poll worker was the minimum age of 97 years old. What’s up with that? They all had their magnifying glasses out.

  3. a friend

    Kevin,

    Imho–It’s called apathy among many younger people, or it’s that people who would be poll workers have full time jobs. There are, I’m sure, other reasons as well. But these older people understand the process, they have been through a lot in their lifetime, and they value the voting system in this country.

Leave a Reply

