Warning: Possibly Offensive Post Below

I am tired of going to stores with signs saying “Cash or Food Stamps EBT Cards Only, No Debit, No Credit Card)”.  I just went to buy some low carb bread (I am still trying to make the Atkins thing work), and I had a few dollars in my pocket.  So, when I saw the sign listed above, I realized I could only buy one item.  OK, I didn’t notice the food stamp portion until I was standing in line with my dollar bill in hand and the customer in front with the cart full had what looked like a credit card in hand.  The customer purchased with food stamps a box of Swiss Chocolate Rolls, Chocolate Peanut Butter Bars, 6 bottled drinks, several bags of chips, and a loaf of bread.  I asked why I am being restricted to a cash purchase when I have money in the bank that belongs to me while others are allowed to spend their food stamps money with the EBT card.  There was no answer.  Either way, the food stamp system is just so wasteful.  We are subsidizing the Frito Lays, Little Debbie, Coca Cola, and all these other junk foods being purchased with food stamps programs.  How is that necessary for a family?  These should be items purchased after all other necessities.  If someone wants to spend their money on junk food, that’s great.  But I shouldn’t have to cover it with my tax dollars through the food stamp system.  We need to do something about this.

6 Comments

Filed under food, money, politics

6 responses to “Warning: Possibly Offensive Post Below

  1. I apparently have a far more radical / outrageous viewpoint regarding food stamps than you do, but I’ll keep it to myself for now. Me, You, Finch, and Paul should do Lunch some day. We can have a town-hall meeting amongst ourselves. It’ll be fun !

    My question at this time is – In 2008 what store on Earth does not accept regular debit or credit cards for purchase ?

  2. I have a radical personal view and a more acceptable yet conservative public view. I will just flip flop a little on this one. The town hall sounds like a great idea, but I would prefer to open it up to the people on the wrong side of the issues as well.

    The store is Flowers Bakery in Perrine. I called their corporate office to complain.

  3. Wrong side of the issues ? OK Jesse and Alex can join us too ! 😆

  4. billyfinch

    I’m in on that meeting.

    Yeah I have a similar “radical view”.

  5. Count me out fellas. I’m working on a record and how we can change the world for Jesus. Ill leave these battles to “yous” guys. Make us proud…LOL

  6. Jesse,
    When is the anticipated drop date for this hot new album ? I can’t wait to put your next big hit song onto my iPod Shuffle and then play it at work and also in the main lobby at Life Pointe.

Leave a Reply

