Thursday Thoughtful Thursday

-The holiday season is upon us. Just like our presidential election season, it’s starting earlier each year and last longer and longer.
-All the decorations are out at the stores, 93.9 FM is now playing Christmas music 24 hours a day, my wife is wrapping presents, and Uncle Sam (Santa Clause) is handing out wads of money to Amex, Morgan Stanley, and AIG.
-I haven’t decided whether I am having a live tree this year or if we will just break out the artificial tree.
-Saturday night, Marcela, my mom, dad, and I will be heading up to Miami for a bigtime Christmas treat. We are going to see Mannheim Steamroller in concert! I love it. I am sure most everyone has heard them before, even if they didn’t know it. If you’ve never had the pleasure of listening to them, you have to give it a try. Their Christmas albums are the standard by which all modern electronic techno medieval classical Christmas music is measured.
-Last year, we saw Trans Siberian Orchestra at the Bank Atlantic Center and that was a blast. They are the standard by which all 80’s hair band anthem stadium rock classical orchestral Christmas music is measured.
-Yesterday was open range for me, meaning I had 4 hours of gun range time. I ran roughly 300 rounds of Federal Premium Hydra Shok through my new olive green Glock 19. That’s nearly $200 worth of ammo just for target practice, and it cost me nothing.
-I also put 12 or so rounds of 00 Buckshot in a 2 1/2 inch cartridge through my Mossberg. Everything was fine until a friend broke out some slugs in a 3 1/2 inch magnum cartridge and convinced me to give it a try. My wrist and hand are still swollen from that one.
-Max was so full of energy yesterday when I let him out. He took off running in the field as fast as he could in a giant circle. We played fetch with a mini tennis ball and he’s getting pretty good at it.
-I figure that if anyone comes in the house unannounced and unwelcome, Max is going to take care of business. What a tough 4 lbs watchdog he is. 😉
-I have an incredibly tough game this week against Fuzzy’s Deadskins. He’s tied with me for the second best record. Whoever wins this game will solidify their playoff chances. Playoff seeding could be determined by this game too.
-I’m really looking forward to church this weekend. I will be at practice tonight, service Sunday morning in Homestead, and Sunday night in Plantation Key.
-If all goes as planned, I may have a job in the next few short months that allows for me to be at church every weekend instead of every other weekend. Pray for that job to come through.
-One last quick though. The Canes have a big game tonight against the Virginia Tech Hokies. The Hokies typically grind it out on the ground, run the option, play tough defense, and score with their special teams. If Miami plays to their abilities and avoids turnovers and big plays from VT’s offense and special teams, we should win handily.

2 Comments

Filed under animals, Blogging, church, fantasy football, football, games, life pointe, Max, Miami Dolphins, Miami Hurricanes, music, NFL, Pets, politics, sports, thoughts

2 responses to “Thursday Thoughtful Thursday

  1. Phil,

    Kelly and I will be at the game tonight. I think one of the guys at church has an extra ticket if you’re off.

  2. Victor

    see u guys there..

Leave a Reply

