Friday Bottom 3: Christmas Songs

Inspired by Victor’s link to a site listing the most overplayed Christmas songs, I decided to list my bottom 3 Christmas songs of all time.  The truth is that all three of the bottom three are so bad that they should be listed as co winners of the #1 worst Christmas songs.  I am sorry, but I just hate these tunes.

Dishonorable Mention:

All I Want for Christmas is You by Mariah Carey – I loved it, until it was played so many times that I want to scratch my eyes out and jump off the Empire State building while drinking antifreeze every time I hear it.

Jingle Bell Rock by Bobby Helms – Like the previous song by Mariah Carey, I guess it wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t attached to singing Christmas trees similar to the Billy Big Mouth Bass.

#3. The Christmas Song by Alvin and The Chipmunks – The voices are annoying enough, then add the goofy 3/4 waltzy bop timing with a polka feel, and you have a daggum horrible tune that everyone thinks is so cute.  NO IT’S NOT!

#2. Santa Baby sung by anyone – This version is Eartha Kitt who made the tune famous.  It’s annoyingness needs no description.

#1. Rockin Around the Christmas Tree performed by Brenda Lee – To me, this song sounds like fingernails scratching a chalkboard.  I hate this song.  I hate this song.  And for the record, I HATE THIS SONG.  There, I feel better now.

10 Comments

Filed under Bottom 3, music

10 responses to “Friday Bottom 3: Christmas Songs

  1. Victor

    LOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  2. Victor

    Phillip has just made the Ebenezer Scrooge Hall of Shame..

  3. Ebenezer Scrooge probably liked these songs before the Ghosts visited him because they ruin Christmas!

  4. I do like “The Christmas Song”–when Nat King Cole sings it…

    But I have to agree with you, otherwise.

    Lighten up, pal.

  5. I absolutely love Nat King Cole’s Christmas Song, but that was a totally different song. I prefer Chipmunks Roasting on an Open Fire to the Chipmunks singing the Christmas Song.

  6. I struggle criticizing any Christmas song because I just love Christmas so much. I have to full-heartedly (sp?) disagree with you on Mariah’s song. That entire album is one of my favs. And I LOVE that song. I will agree with Jingle Bell Rock though – BLAH.

    I heard a Christmas song yesterday that I love and haven’t heard in a while… Tennessee Christmas. Love it.

    I LOVE CHRISTMAS!!!

  7. I love Christmas too. This is why I will stand for the honor and integrity of this sacred time of year by declaring its desocration by the likes of the Chipmunks, Brenda Lee, and Mariah Carey!

  8. Victor

    May u be tied up, be forced to listen to Mariah Carey’s album, watch Alvin and the Chipmunk’s Christmas Special, and be shot by Marcela with the gun from ” A Christmas Story”…

  9. Billy Finch

    I would say BAH HUMBUG!, but looks like I got beat to it.

    Good levity Phil. Now tell us what you really think.

  10. Pingback: Blog and Bike Traffic « The Citizen Cane

Leave a Reply

