This Historic Day – My Silly Perspective

While at Lee University, for one year I played bass guitar and attended Mount Eagle Missionary Baptist in Tennessee.  I know what it’s like to be the only one in church different from everyone else, because Mount Eagle was a small black American congregation.  I was the only Caucasian in the congregation of about 100.  When we had the singing fellowship with the other churches of the area, I was still the only Caucasian in the congregation of about 250.  I know just a little about what it must feel like for a person to attend a church and then to be the only one of a particular color or race in the congregation.  While the people were extremely friendly and hospitable, and while the wonderful people at Mount Eagle did everything possible to make me feel welcome as a part of their family, I couldn’t help but feel as if I was an outsider.  It was as much or more my doing/feeling than anything they could have done to make me feel different.  Even with those experiences, I understand that I can never know exactly what it feels like to be a black man living in a white area.  I struggle with my preconceived notions of what other people should be doing, thinking, and feeling.  But when I think back to my short time at Mount Eagle, it tempers those prejudices with a little perspective.  Try to imagine what it’s like to live in a world that looks different than you.  Hey, you may not need to imagine it.  Maybe that is you.  Today is a pretty good day to reflect on that as we welcome a new leader, the first black man to serve in the office of POTUS.  Let’s enjoy this history we are making, and put aside our political fight for another time.

1 Comment

Filed under church, politics, worship

One response to “This Historic Day – My Silly Perspective

  1. Ela

    You are correct, let’s enjoy this day as people united as one.

    We are all GOD’S children.

Leave a Reply

