Music Review: So Alive

At The Saturn Project’s Website I was able to get my free song, “So Alive” from the upcoming album entitled Anthems for a Broken World. Click the above link to get your free song. 100% of the proceeds from the sales of the full album will go to move families in Cambodia who are literally living in the dumps into their own homes, provide clean water, and a church for their community. The target is $500,000 raised through album sales. The album will cost $10 each for purchase, which is a bargain for this high quality music.

“So Alive” was previously recorded as a demo by Jesse Santoyo and his band The Saturn Project years ago. This studio version has a very mature sound. The best way to describe the style is energetic, groovy, and adult. The rich piano/string tones lay a foundation which enhance the smooth guitar rhythms. The vocals by Jesse are pleasant and energetic, with really spot on harmonies in the chorus and a bridge with a deep almost gritty vocal accompaniment. The rhythmic groove of this song is very creative. I was not expecting the arrangement to be so rhythmically complex with the snappy beat of the drums countering the groove of the keys, bass, and guitar. It works! This is a complex groove, but it’s not hard on the ears. It’s not annoyingly catchy, but I find myself humming the tune “I feel so alive” as I go about my daily business.

Great job TSP on a cool tune. I can’t wait to get my hands on the rest of the album.

2 Comments

Filed under music

2 responses to “Music Review: So Alive

  1. Oh you’re just saying those nice words because Jesse and Alex are such cool dudes and all-around great children of God. 😉

    I need to go and download my free single as well. I will add it to both of my iPod Shuffles in heavy rotation ! I smell a MASSIVESMASH !

  2. The part that lets me know how good this whole album is going to be is that So Alive is not even close to my favorite TSP tune. This arrangement was great and really kicks tail, so I KNOW the rest of the album is going to absolutely blow me away.

Leave a Reply

