Give God Your Best

I have work clothes, clothes that I wear around the house for house or yard work, clothes for the beach, painting clothes, clothes that I wear to the game, clothes for when I go out, when I go fishing, for weddings and funerals, cool weather clothes (I don’t have any cold weather clothes right now), but I don’t really have a set clothes that I wear for God. I have never worn shorts to Sunday service (you can be sure that most people don’t want to see my hairy legs on Sunday anyway). God does not care if I am in shorts. He sees me when I am naked anyway. I don’t need to dress up to see God. God is everywhere, even when I hide from him or when I sin and reject him. I don’t go to a building where God lives (church) so I can dress up and impress Him. He sees me when my hair is messed up, when my face is unshaven, and when I smell bad. When I dress up, shave, cut my hair, and take a shower, I do it for people. That’s OK. There is nothing wrong with dressing up to go to “church”, but it isn’t God that cares. Man cares, and sometimes it’s for good reason. Does He accept my gift of dressing up for church on Sunday? Probably He does, because he sees my heart and why I am doing it. Does he accept my gift out of obligation? I don’t know; we are instructed to give cheerfully. That does not include telling other people how they should dress as a way to please God. That is the wrong attitude and I don’t think God is pleased. It could easily be seen as legalism.

I think this whole idea of giving God your best when it comes to clothes could be a misunderstanding of who God is. The more that I have grown in the Lord, the less surface thinking I have about Him. I hope the clothes that God sees on me are the robes of righteousness that only He can dress me in (Isaiah 61:10). If I am trying to dress for God, am I not discounting what Jesus did on the cross? Does God look at me like a father laughing at his little boy who so wants to impress him that he misses the whole point? Probably, but I know he still loves me. As a little boy, my efforts are surface, but as I grow I need to stop trying to impress God and just obey him, love him, love my brothers and sister, tell people about Jesus not only with my mouth but also with my life, and live my life in a way that honors him. All the other junk is filthy rags. The clothes that I wear when I “give God my best” is nothing but filthy rags (Isaiah 64:6).

5 Comments

Filed under church, life pointe, religion

5 responses to “Give God Your Best

  1. Ela

    What a great post Phil!!!!!!
    As I am at home most of my time is spend in bed, I know that when I start to pray for myself and others and as I listen to HIS word, HE does not care that I am in my bed clothes or for matter that I’m in bed I know HE just hears my HEART.

    I was given a huge GOD wink yesterday, so I know HE is holding and listening to me.

    Love ya…….

  2. AWESOME POST Pastor P.J. ! Are you Philling in for Travis this Sunday morning ? 😉

  3. Pingback: Friday Night Blogroll Review « THE MAJOR’S LIFE BLOG

  4. Even God doesn’t want to see you naked man! LOL.

  5. Pingback: Life Pointe Church Sunday Morning Tossed Salad « THE MAJOR’S LIFE BLOG

Leave a Reply

