Bottom 3: Clothing Fads

I am not a fashion expert, but these in my opinion are the three worst clothing fads in my lifetime.

#3. High Waters – I think we have Michael Jackson to thank for these. I am not sure what was so appealing about pants that only reached to the low part of the shin, except for the functionality of being able to walk in a deep puddle without getting your pants wet.

#2. Spandex Pants – Fueled by the hair bands of the 80’s, this embarrassing fad should have been reserved for undergarments and snorkeling rash guards only.

#1. Oversized everything (including the subgroups of baggies and underwear exposure) – The tight jeans fad lasted a decade, the straight legs lasted about a decade, bell bottoms came and went and came back again for a while, high waters lasted maybe 5 years, and the dance-inspired leg warmers, head bands/wrist bands and sweats were only around for a few years, but somehow this ridiculous baggy look has filtered from the streets to suburbia and has stuck around for well over 10 years now. I see kids that cannot walk because their pants are falling down, XXXL shirts on skinny kids, and shorts so big, they look like bell bottom pants. I would also like to add that this fad includes the sub-group of boxer exposed drooping pants which is far more ridiculous than the oversized shirts and baggy shorts. I do get a good laugh when I see some punk criminal trying to run from the “Po-Po’s” while doing everything he can to keep his pants from falling down. This madness must stop.

2 Comments

Filed under Bottom 3, music, snorkeling, time

2 responses to “Bottom 3: Clothing Fads

  1. What’s wrong with spandex? I’m rocking some underneath my jeans right now. They’re sweaty and tight in CERTAIN areas where space is already limited due to… uh, limited space (sorry if you have to delete this!)

  2. Enjoyed your blog and photo! On an educational, and I hope, entertaining note, here is my perspective. “Baggy Pants in the Classroom”

    Blog: How To Be Happy If: http://howtobehappyif.com/wordpress/?cat=23

    Dr. Sue. Twittter: howtobehappyif

Leave a Reply

