Friday Bottom 3: Overrated Movies

The criteria I used for this list is that the movie is a stinker but is considered by movie experts to be a classic, or that it won many awards, or that the average joe thinks it is a great movie.

#3. Scarface – I am not a fan of Brian De Palma. The only film which he directed that I really enjoyed was The Untouchables. Scarface is one of his films that I just cannot stand. You must completely suspend reality and endure hundreds of swear words. The acting and drama is just way over the top and the action is unbelievable. I just don’t get the fascination with this film.

#2. Easy Rider – I guess you need to have been a hippie or wannabe hippie to really enjoy this garbage. The dialogue and acting is boring, in my opinion. The whole point of this stinker which many of the critics place in their lists of great American movies seems to be the trip across country on choppers. The man is trying to keep me down!

#1. Titanic – Wow, this one is one that I guess I will never understand. It’s loooooooooong and boring, so it made a pile of cash. The first 3 or 4 times I tried to watch it, I fell asleep 20 or 30 minutes in. As far as I am concerned, you can fast forward to the last 30 minutes and enjoy the ship sinking, because that is the best part.

7 Comments

Filed under Bottom 3

7 responses to “Friday Bottom 3: Overrated Movies

  1. Victor

    Phil,

    Get one of your guns and shoot yourself in the foot—I agree about Titanic–Easy Rider and Scarface are genre movies that I wouldnt call overrated…

  2. Titanic is not just thought of as a great movie… it is the number one movie of all time as far as sales go. Yeah, you can argue about movie ticket price, blah, blah, blah.

    Personally, I saw it 3 times in the theater in 1997 when I was a Sophomore in college. Not only an action packed movie, but a great love story that spanned decades.

    I am saddened that you don’t like it. You need to get in touch with your romantic side.

  3. Kelly, I beat my romantic side to a pulp and then spit on the bloody remains. Titanic made money because teenage girls went to the theaters 3 and 4 times in little herds to watch Leo DiCrappio drown. BTW, that’s the best part of the movie!

  4. Tammy

    Phil,
    I agree with you about Titanic. I waited till it came out on dvd to see it, that way I can fast forward when it was draaaaaagging. It was a remake of the classic!

    Never saw the other 2.

  5. I saw “Titanic” exactly 11 years ago yesterday (March 12TH 1998) in a Fort Worth Texas area movie theatre with several other coworker dudes that were on a military-related work trip with me over there. I recall that we were the only dudes in the entire movie theatre, and at least one or two of us shed some tears during the flick.

  6. Phil and Tammy you are just wrong.

    I never thought Leo was good looking and certainly didn’t go to see him. But the chemistry between Leo and Kate was great. Great plot, great action sequences, great history lesson, heart-wrenching stories (that are true to history), and a story that spanned the ages.

    Doesn’t get better than that. Yes, I cried. I feel bad for people who weren’t able to enjoy Titanic.

  7. Victor

    Im getting a cavity just reading some of these entries—-Titanic’s main draw were teenage girls going ga-ga nuts over Leonardo Dicaprio—-that was all the hype…

Leave a Reply

