Daily Archives: March 28, 2009

Saturday Top 5: Nuts

These are the five best nuts, whether in a mix or all by itself.

#5. Pine Nuts – I am not sure if these actually qualify as a nut, but if they don’t then “OH WELL”. They are very expensive, but worth the money. They’re very high in oils, so toasting them brings out the flavor. This is also the magical ingredient in pesto. Try toasting pine nuts and mixing it with fresh spinach, Balsalmic vinegar, and sea salt in a pan until the spinach wilts. Yum!

#4. Cashew – In my opinion, these are best enjoyed roasted with salt and no other flavors or nuts. They’re a little high in carbs, but they’re rich and tasty. Unfortunately, I can’t stop at one.

#3. Almonds – I prefer these smoked when I am eating them as a snack. Sliced and toasted, they also make a great topping for most deserts. They’re perfect for mixed nuts and also as a crust for fish.

#2. Pistachio – My dad introduced me to these flavorful treats when I was a kid. He would go to the mall while Trav and I would run around and my mom would shop and he’d crack the shells one at a time. That’s the way they are best enjoyed, salted and roasted still in the shell, one at a time. One kernel has tons of flavor! It makes an excellent flavor of ice cream as well. The problem is that they’re a little pricey and higher in carbs than most nuts.

#1. Pecan – They’re high in protein and fat, low in carbohydrates, versatile, and extremely delicious. I love them roasted, salty, sweet, right out of the shell, in candy, or (my favorite) made into a pie! New Mexico is the pecan center of the universe, but they’re also grown all over the south.

3 Comments

Filed under food, top 5

Tourney Brackets

Memphis let me down with a loss to Missouri. Other than that, the rest of my Elite Eight teams in place. Unfortunately, I also picked Memphis to make the Final Four. I’m counting on Pitt to beat Louisville. If Pitt beats Louisville, I’ll win my bracket challenge against about 40 opponents. Even losing one of my Final Four choices, I am still having my best bracket picks so far. I know everyone is just thrilled.

2 Comments

Filed under basketball, NCAA Tournament, sports