Saturday Top 5: Nuts

These are the five best nuts, whether in a mix or all by itself.

#5. Pine Nuts – I am not sure if these actually qualify as a nut, but if they don’t then “OH WELL”. They are very expensive, but worth the money. They’re very high in oils, so toasting them brings out the flavor. This is also the magical ingredient in pesto. Try toasting pine nuts and mixing it with fresh spinach, Balsalmic vinegar, and sea salt in a pan until the spinach wilts. Yum!

#4. Cashew – In my opinion, these are best enjoyed roasted with salt and no other flavors or nuts. They’re a little high in carbs, but they’re rich and tasty. Unfortunately, I can’t stop at one.

#3. Almonds – I prefer these smoked when I am eating them as a snack. Sliced and toasted, they also make a great topping for most deserts. They’re perfect for mixed nuts and also as a crust for fish.

#2. Pistachio – My dad introduced me to these flavorful treats when I was a kid. He would go to the mall while Trav and I would run around and my mom would shop and he’d crack the shells one at a time. That’s the way they are best enjoyed, salted and roasted still in the shell, one at a time. One kernel has tons of flavor! It makes an excellent flavor of ice cream as well. The problem is that they’re a little pricey and higher in carbs than most nuts.

#1. Pecan – They’re high in protein and fat, low in carbohydrates, versatile, and extremely delicious. I love them roasted, salty, sweet, right out of the shell, in candy, or (my favorite) made into a pie! New Mexico is the pecan center of the universe, but they’re also grown all over the south.

3 Comments

Filed under food, top 5

3 responses to “Saturday Top 5: Nuts

  1. ♫ Sometimes you feel like a nut. Sometimes you don’t. Almond Joy’s got nuts. Mounds don’t. (Because) – Sometimes you feel like a nut. Sometimes you don’t ♫

  2. marksimiley

    I’m not a real fan of hazelnuts! I do like the regular peanut, roasted and salted mmmmm- good.

    Not really sure of the pine nut deal, and Almonds are best smoked but not over smoked. If you roll them with a little parsnip and then light it up, thats good smoking!! : 0

  3. The hardest part about smoking almonds is keeping them lit.

Leave a Reply

