Saturday Top 5: Places I would like to visit

Marcela and I will be heading for a trip to the Caribbean in a little more than 24 hours. One of the destinations we’ve wanted to visit on our honeymoon but were unable to schedule was Dunn’s River Falls at Ocho Rios, Jamaica where cold fresh water falls through 600 feet of rocks into the salty warm Caribbean Sea. We’ll be able to cross that one off our list. But here are the top 5 overall places I’d like to visit.

#5. African Safari Tanzania or Botswana – I’d love to do a big game hunt, but I don’t think Marcela would approve.  So these are two of the best locations to view a lion, leopard, elephant, cape buffalo, and rhinoceros in the wild.

#4. Galapagos Islands – I spent the Summer of 1997 in Quito, Ecuador, but I was not able to visit the Galapagos Islands.  Along with the Amazon basin, it’s one of the places I would love to see.

#3. Rome – There is so much history and art in Rome.  Marcela visited Rome and Venice before we were married and said that it’s at the top of her list (along with France and Spain) to see again.

#2. Yellowstone National Park – Right here in the good old USA this National Park is beautiful, unspoiled, and huge.  Along with Yellowstone, I’d also like to see Yosemite and make a swing through the rockies.

#1. Australia’s Great Barrier Reef – I would love to visit the outback and see the unique dessert terain, but more than anything I’d love to see the Great Barrier Reef.  Snorkeling and SCUBA are two of my favorite hobbies, and this is one of the world’s top destinations.  This huge coral barrier reef is so larg that it’s easily visible from space.

1 Comment

Filed under animals, SCUBA, snorkeling, top 5, vacation

One response to “Saturday Top 5: Places I would like to visit

  1. Of all of those places that you’ve mentioned I’ve only been to Dunn’s River Falls / Ocho Rios Jamaica and Rome Italy.

    Enjoy the ride !

Leave a Reply

