Daily Archives: March 5, 2008

Like night and day.

For the past year, I have been working a night shift 5 to 6 days a week. My schedule was easy for me. I got up at 4pm, was at work by 5:30pm, and on my way out of the plant and on my way home around 6:30am. I almost forgot what the sun looked like. I made occasional journeys into the daylight for fishing trips or a quick run to Orlando for the weekend with my wife. But overall, I became a vampire. When I did get a day off, I had to sleep much of it away just to feel normal. That meant the only way to get a whole day off, was to get two days off and sleep one of them away. I spent most of my time on days off staying awake all night watching movies alone while Marcela was asleep. I must say, it wasn’t as tough on me as it was on Marcela. She ended up staying up way too late while I was at work and then suffered the next day dealing with her kids.

Two weeks ago, I was assigned to the day shift and I’m loving it. I get up at 4:15am, home by 7pm, in bed by 9:30pm so I can do it again. I stay up a little later on the night before a day off. It’s great to get to hang out with my family again. Instead of going to bed while Marcela was waking up to go to work, we both get to sleep together and she gets to hear me snore again. It’s been great for her, too, because now she is getting in bed early and sleeping a full night. Unfortunately, I will be out of church every other week due to my work schedule, but I will be able to enjoy the days I am at church.

The change in my schedule has been like night and day!

8 Comments

Filed under schedule, work